Happy In My Home (Studio) By The Sea . . .

All the stars have pointed to the thing that I realized and verbalized a long time ago but somehow forgot along the way to retail, outdoor craft markets and winter holiday markets:  I do not do trinkets.  Trying to find that “thing” that I can make a lot of in a short time and maybe make money with?  Anybody can make  3 piece seagulls or star sun catchers for tourists who only care about cheap in a variety of colors.  Problem:  No heart, mojo, or whatever you want to call it.  It just doesn’t work for me.  I need to feed my soul with projects that capture me in some way.  I need to spend hours, days struggling over the perfect glass, redesigning to make the piece say what I want it to say . . .to me.    I am resigned and relieved.  I look around at those great projects that have gathered dust in my studio waiting for me to pull my head out of my ass and get back to the real work.  If I never make another perfectly geometric 5 pointed star again, it will be too soon.  In case anyone actually wants to buy one of those heartless little trinkets, I’ve got boxes full of them.

Leave a Reply

