The Eye of Sauron

Let’s begin by saying, “I got let go by my recent employer.” Sour grapes, most certainly, but not how you’d think. It took me 30 seconds to gather my things and get out the door with my final pay. I nearly jumped for joy in the parking lot getting to my car! I’ve been giggling for two days now and I don’t foresee the end to my found-again lightness of heart.

Am I crazy? Well, that’s a subject for a different treatise. I am liberated. The corporate world has rejected me. The evil eye of Sauron scanned my soul and found me wanting. I could not be happier. It is March 8, 2014; let’s see how time treats this . . .

I’m going to be 60 in about a month and I had other plans for myself.

Sauron revisited – and it still feels good. It’s nearly August and I’m still a little pissed off about getting “let go” for being “not a good fit.” I know that times are different, but when I was younger, “not a good fit” would have been a very chickenshit way of telling someone that you just don’t like them. My new “boss” did not like me. Well, I hope he liked those 25 radios I sent into Motorola for repair the week before that would be coming back all at once with attending paperwork and he with no office administrator to receive them. My own private little giggle (tee hee).

I’m not a bit conflicted even though I’m still feeling the giddy sensation of freedom and the slow burn of anger over the event. How is it that businesses will train a person to do a job that is quite beyond the understanding of the person who is supposed to manage the person’s performance on said job?

I began sensing that part of my job was to make the manager feel like he was never wrong or incompetent (even though he was, frequently, regarding my job as office administrator abbreviated as OA) and find a way to do my work correctly and efficiently in spite of his incorrect inputs and unreasonable directives. As time went on, I learned that it was never okay to question the manager; nor was it acceptable to “vent” to other office administrators (not even the one who trained me) about this absolutely unbelievable phenomenon. Day Wireless Systems, a company spanning Oregon, Washington, and California when I was there, hired predominately males as managers and females as office administrators. A chapter of “Mad Men” perhaps, definitely stuck in the 50’s.

Yeah, I’m really glad to not be there. What a crazy circus! But, now, how can I see any corporate job as a potential for me? Has the world shifted so much that Day Wireless Systems is the norm. It seems I’ve escaped the nightmare only to find there is no other option. I am 60 years old and I remember working for corporate banking and the federal government (maybe the largest corporation of all) – stuff made sense, always. Is my inability to make sense of the practices of Day Wireless Systems based on my age and experience or have things really changed in corporate structures that much?

I’m pretty sure that even if I had the desire to re-enter the corporate fray (a presumptuous thought, I probably would not be in the top 20 candidate pool for corporate employment at my age), the same thing would happen. I can’t (at 60, maybe that should read “refuse to”) make people who do not have my professional admiration or respect feel like gods.

Time to do other things.

Leave a Reply

